Juniors earn points, raise funds at annual T1D Tee Off

William Wimberly, center, hosts the annual T1D Tee Off, along with his family. He has not let diabetes keep him from getting out on the course and enjoying the game he loves.

Tournament at Miler supports Juvenile

Diabetes Research

Local juniors got a chance to test their skills in some early season tournament action and support a great cause at the same time in the 3rd Annual T1D Tee Off on Feb. 27.

All profits raised by the T1D Tee Off, held at Summerville Country Club, will go this year for diabetes summer camp scholarships to Camp Sweet Escape. The tournament is hosted by Summerville junior golfer William Wimberly and his parents. William was diagnosed with Type 1 Diabetes (T1D) shortly after his third birthday.

T1D is an autoimmune disease where the body’s immune system attacks its own pancreas, making it unable to produce insulin and turn sugar into energy. As a result, type 1 diabetics, like William, are dependent on insulin to live. William tests his blood glucose levels by finger pricks and gives himself 4-8 insulin shots daily.

That hasn’t stopped him from getting out on the course and enjoying the game of golf. William and his family decided that the T1D Tee Off is a great way to combine his interest in golf and a desire to educate, advocate and raise funds for a T1D cure.

Players in this year’s T1D Tee Off enjoyed sunny skies and earned some early season SCJGA points.

Ky Matsumoto of Fort Dorchester High turned in the low score of the day, a 71, to win the Boys 15-18 Division. Taylor Mayers, also from Fort Dorchester, won the Girls 13-18 Division, with a 79.

Other division winners were: Emma Schimpf (Girls 10-12), Austin Scott (Boys 13-14), Jerry Bruns (Boys 10-12), and Thomas Price (Boys 7-9).

Fort Dorchester High School won the team competition among the girls with Lauren Fix, Delanie Mortier, CeCe Knecht, Anna Walsh and Taylor Mayers. Summerville High won the boys team competition with Davis Hewett, Jack Robinson, Nick Walter, Barron Knight and Brett Von Nessen


2016 T1D

at Summerville Country Club

Girls 13-18

Taylor Mayers Fort Dorchester 79

Abigail Schimpf Home School 80

Emma Wofford Bishop England 86

Karlee Vardas Lexington 86

Kayla Bartemeyer Wando 87

Lexi Lucarelli Pinewood 87

Delanie Mortier Fort Dorchester 88

Telie McCoy Patrick Henry 89

Kennedy Carroll Bishop England 89

Mady Richards Blythewood 92

Annette Paxton Ashley Ridge 93

Rachel Rich Wando 93

Cecelia Knecht Fort Dorchester 94

Lindsey Hoile Blythewood 96

Grace Zoller Ashley Ridge 97

Lauren Fix Fort Dorchester 100

Raven Turner Northside 108

Sierra Vinson Chapman 113

Cori Langford Blythewood 113

Anna Walsh Fort Dorchester 114

Emma Baum Chapman 131


Boys 15-18

Ky Matsumoto Fort Dorchester 71

Tyler Gray Thomas Sumter 74

Zach Armentrout TPAC 75

Ethan Willis PCA 76

JR Stark Pinewood 76

Jacob Richburg Manning 77

Barron Knight Summerville 77

Alec Vardas Lexington 78

Tommy Holloway Beaufort 79

Zakariya Butt Ashley Ridge 80

Jacob Morris West Ashley 80

Zack Kirtz N. Myrtle 81

Wyatt Gardner Cane Bay 83

Nicholas Bunker Wando 84

Davis Hewett Summerville 84

Zachary Owens Johnsonville 84

Matthe Ponte Fort Dorchester 86

Stuart Kay Jr. Pinewood 87

Joe Stowe Beaufort Academy 87

Nicholas Walters Summerville 87

Christian Owens Johnsonville 88

Brett Von Nessen Summerville 88

Kevin Bates Fort Dorchester 95

Chase McDonald Wando 96

Richard Martin Fort Dorchester 97

Anthony Ciabattari A. Ridge 104

Ryan Pitts Wando 101

Ryan Pooser Hanahan 101

Jacob Ponte Fort Dorchester 107

Nick Velasquez Island Charter 108


Boys 13-14

Austin Scott PCA 81

Jack Robinson S’ville 84

Luis Thompson WA 86

Andrew Kaslick Pinewood 88

Andrew Propes PCA 88

Johnny Hyman SV 90

Jackson McGowan JI 94

Jesse Nguyen JI 96

Alex Stephens PCA 109


Girls 10-12

Emma Schimpf 45

Ella Drew Dodd 46

Caitlin Hollingsworth 53

Chris Manuel 53

Alexis Hodge 54

Boys 10-12

Jerry Bruns 42

Hayden Mincey 43

Luke Walmet 44

Luca Seccareccio 45

Harris Holstein 48

Troy Ryan Propes 53

Will Gnegy 54

Noah Kessler 54

Ben Patrick 55

William Wimberly 57

Kamp Gary 60

Sam DiMuzio 65


Boys 7-9

Thomas Price 42

Jon Graham 43

Daniel Donato 44