Ackerman, Weiner win third straight Super Senior Four Ball

George Ackerman of Charleston and Mike Weiner of Kiawah Island captured their third straight title in the SCGA Super Senior Four-Ball Championship held this year at Cobblestone Park Golf Club in Blythewood. Ackerman and Weiner are the only team to have won the SCGA Super Senior Four-Ball Championship, which was launched three years ago.
The championship is split into two divisions: a championship division for players 65-69 and a Legends Division for players over the age of 70.
In the final round of this year’s championship, they shot a 66 and finished with a two-day total of 11-under par 131. They completed the final round carding two bogeys matched with seven birdies to finish one shot ahead of first round co-leaders John Laehn (Aiken) and Patrick Luskey (Aiken).
The teams of Jim Burgess and Bob Hammersla and Jimmy Hawkins & Jimmy Martin finished in a tie for third with a two-day total of 133. Tommy Ford and Charlie Swanson tied for sixth in the first flight and Mo York and Rick Aldous were 10th.
The Championship Division Second Flight ended in a tie for first place. The team of Bob Bacon & Barnaby Henderson finished tied with fellow competitors Tom Gaines & Johnny McBee with a two-day total of 140.
In the Legends Division, Steve Pachol & Greg Schachner won their second straight Legends Division title after a blistering second round 61. First round leaders Vic Hannon and Bob Stringer finished alone in second after a closing round of 73. Nick Avery and Scott Schwarz tied for 5th.

SCGA Super Senior Four Ball
Championship First
1 George Ackerman / Mike Weiner 65-66–131
2 John Laehn / Patrick Luskey 65-67–132
T3 Jim Burgess / Bob Hammersla 66-67–133
T3 Jimmy Hawkins / Jimmy Martin 68-65–133
5 Bob Rickman / Bob Varn 67-68–135
T6 David Herndon / Lance Tucker 69-68–137
T6 Tommy Ford Charlie Swanson 69-68–137
T8 Bob Pitzer / Jim Stevenson 68-70–138
T8 Mike Calkins / Ron Callahan 68-70–138
10 Rick Aldous / Mo York 67-72–139
11 Russell Smith / Vince Williams 68-73–141
12 Anthony Bryant Gerald Gross 69-73–142

Championship Second
T1 Bob Bacon / Barnaby Henderson 70-70–140
T1 Tom Gaines / Johnny McBee 72-68–140
T3 Randy Johnson / Joe Padgette 72-69–141
T3 Rusty Jester / Gary Schatz 71-70–141
T5 Bob Buie / Michael Daniels 72-71–143
T5 Terry Clyburn / Jerry Pardue 73-70–143
T7 Bucky Grice / Lee Jordan 70-76–146
T7 Coty Cuttino / Herb Fleming 73-73–146
10 Brian / Stephen Alchermes 73-74–147
11 John Kauer / Tony Koechli 74-75–149
12 Ken Orcutt / Hugh Tilson 73-80–153
13 Ernie Hughes / John Travis 80-80–160

Legends Division
1 Steve Pachol / Greg Schachner 69-61–130
2 Vic Hannon / Bob Stringer 62-73–135
T3 Robert Cibulsky / Martin Tener 68-72–140
T3 Belton McCarty / Thad Vincent 67-73–140
T5 Nick Avery / Scott Schwarz 70-71–141
T5 Lanny Correll / James Frazier 72-69–141
T7 Bill Eisenman / Jerry Woodruff 69-73–142
T7 Keith Guise / Sandy Knapp 72-70–142
T9 Bob Kinsey / Nelson Raimondo 72-71–143
T9 Don Ries / Gene Spencer 73-70–143